The 4 C’s.

Various characteristics of diamonds are graded and categorized by the diamond industry. It is important to understand the 4 C’s before you buy your diamond:

  • Cut
  • Clarity
  • Color
  • Carat weight

These are the criteria jewelers use when grading diamonds and they're the ones you'll need to understand to buy the right diamond for you.
And now introducing the 5th C:

  • Certificate

Diamond Cut

Cut is probably the most important of the 4 C’s.  The life, brilliance and fire of a diamond depends heavily on its cut.

Read more...

Diamond Clarity

Most diamonds contain some inner inclusions, which occur during the formation process. The visibility, number and size of these inclusions determine what is called the clarity of a diamond. Diamonds that are clear are most rare and create more brilliance, and thus are more highly prized, and priced.

Read more...

Diamond Color

Colorless diamonds are the most desirable since they allow the most refraction of light(sparkle). Off white diamonds absorb light, inhibiting brilliance. There are also fancy color diamonds in a range of colors, including: yellow, pink, brown, blue, green.

Read more...

Carat Weight

A carat is the unit of weight by which a diamond is measured. Because large diamonds are found less commonly than small diamonds, the price of a diamond rises exponentially to its size.

Read more...

The Fifth C: Certificates

The diamond certificate, which is sometimes called a grading report, is a complete evaluation of your diamond that has been performed by a qualified professional, or laboratory, with the help of special gemological instruments. Each stone bears its own recognizable, individual characteristics, which are listed on the certificate.

Read more...

Created by